InboxRatio
Check your domain

Catalog entry · InboxRatio Editorial

SendGrid: User reviews, pricing & features

SendGrid is the transactional anchor of our catalog: an email API and SMTP service for developer sending, with a Marketing Campaigns product alongside. It is operated by Twilio — sendgrid.com redirected (temporarily, not permanently) to Twilio's SendGrid email API pages when we verified it in August 2026, and Twilio continues to run the brand.

At our transactional normalization volume of 50,000 emails per month, Essentials costs $19.95/month — the slider lands exactly on the 50,000-email step. There is no perpetual free plan; new accounts get a 60-day trial at 100 emails per day. Pricing checked 19 August 2026. The curve turns steeply upward past Essentials' range: $19.95/month at 50,000 emails and $34.95 at 100,000, but 500,000 emails requires Pro at $499/month on the 700,000-email step (no 500k step exists) — the most expensive functional tier in our transactional capture at that volume (multi-volume capture, 21 August 2026).

Measured · September 2026

Our deliverability test

77/100Good deliverability

Placement

  • Inbox88%
  • Tabs (Promotions / Updates)0.8%
  • Spam7.8%
  • Missing2.8%
  • Bounced0.6%

By mailbox provider

  • Gmail72/100
  • Outlook79/100
  • Yahoo82/100
Deliverability tested: September 2026 · seed-list placement test, formula v0.1-pre-calibration

From our pricing dataset

Pricing at a glance

TierMonthly priceWhat's included
Free Trial$0/mo—
Essentials$19.95/mo50,000 emails/mo
Pro$89.95/mo100,000 emails/mo
PremierCustom—

Pricing checked 19 August 2026 · monthly billing, prices as shown by the vendor.

From our feature dataset

Deliverability capabilities audit

The 17 deliverability capabilities we check every vendor for — authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, and reputation tooling. This audits what SendGrid documents; it is separate from our tested deliverability ranking.

16 of 17 documented capabilities

  • Yes:

    SPF assistance

    Domain authentication (SPF/DKIM) included on all plans incl. trial

  • Yes:

    DKIM setup

    Domain authentication SPF/DKIM included on all plans

  • Partial:

    DMARC supportpartial

    DMARC guidance in docs/deliverability guide; no DMARC monitoring product stated on fetched pages

  • Partial:

    Dedicated IPpartial

    1 dedicated IP included from Pro ($89.95+); none on Essentials

  • Yes:

    Shared IP pools

    'SendGrid's systems programmatically move accounts to different pools based on reputation' (Shared IP Pools 101)

  • Yes:

    IP warming

    IP warm-up docs ('Warm up an IP address')

  • Yes:

    Automated warmup

    'Automated warm-up allows SendGrid to automatically warmup your dedicated IP by throttling' + Automated Warmup API

  • Partial:

    IP pools managementpartial

    Shared pools SendGrid-managed by reputation; customer-managed IP pools for dedicated IPs (Pro+) documented in API

  • Yes:

    Bounce management

    Bounce and Block classifications; bounced addresses auto-logged as suppressions

  • Yes:

    Suppression lists

    'bounces and unsubscribes logged in your SendGrid account... logged under suppressions'

  • Yes:

    Complaint management

    'Twilio SendGrid automatically suppresses any addresses reporting spam through traditional feedback loops'

  • Yes:

    Feedback loop handling

    Traditional FBL complaints auto-suppressed (Gmail excepted — no traditional FBL there)

  • Yes:

    Reputation monitoring

    Reputation-based pool assignment + Deliverability Insights metrics (engagement, spam rate, bounce rate)

  • Not documented:

    Blacklist monitoringnot documented

    Blocklist monitoring product not stated in fetched sources

  • Yes:

    Deliverability analytics

    Deliverability Insights UI (Bounced & Blocked analysis)

  • Partial:

    Deliverability consultingpartial

    Expert Services for Pro and Premier accounts: reputation upkeep, content review, custom IP warm-up plans, ongoing consulting

  • Yes:

    Domain authentication guidance

    Domain authentication docs + Support Deliverability Guide

Items marked — are not documented by the vendor. In this category, silence is itself a signal. How we read vendor claims: methodology.

From our feature dataset

SendGrid feature matrix

What the vendor documents, category by category. ◐ marks tier-gated or limited capabilities; — means the vendor does not document it.

Email6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Marketing campaigns

    Marketing Campaigns product — 'design, automate, and deliver impactful email marketing campaigns'

  • Yes:

    Transactional email

    'The trusted SendGrid Email API for delivery at scale'

  • Yes:

    SMTP relay

    'Twilio SendGrid Email API and SMTP service'

  • Yes:

    Bulk sending

    Volume-tiered sending 50k-5M+/mo

  • Yes:

    Email templates

    'library of responsive templates'; Dynamic templates editor incl. on trial

  • Yes:

    Drag-and-drop editor

    'intuitive drag-and-drop editor'

Automation6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Email sequences

    'create time-based drip series'

  • Yes:

    Drip campaigns

    Time-based drip series

  • Partial:

    Event-based automationpartial

    'simple triggers and centralized management' — trigger types limited vs marketing-suite ESPs

  • Partial:

    Behavioral automationpartial

    Automations enter on list/segment membership (segments can use 'Last Clicked'/'Last Opened'), exit criteria on contact activity; requires Advanced Marketing Campaigns plan

  • Partial:

    Workflow builderpartial

    Welcome + Custom automations: 'Define either a single message or a workflow for a series of messages'; Advanced Marketing Campaigns plan only, 'Keep workflows to 10 messages'

  • Partial:

    Conditional logicpartial

    Dynamic templates support conditional content (Handlebars); automation branching not stated

AI0 of 6 documented
  • Not documented:

    AI email generationnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    AI subject linesnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    AI content optimizationnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    AI segmentationnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    AI campaign recommendationsnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    AI agent / assistantnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

Personalization4 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Segmentation

    'segment your recipients to deliver personalized content'

  • Yes:

    Dynamic content

    'dynamic templates'

  • Yes:

    Personalization variables

    'personalized, relevant content' via dynamic templates

  • Yes:

    Behavioral targeting

    Segments on Email Activity fields 'Last Clicked', 'Last Opened', 'Last Emailed'; 'Segments can combine more than one engagement activity condition using AND or OR'

Analytics4 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Opens & clicks

    'Track open rates, click-through rates'

  • Partial:

    Conversion trackingpartial

    Via Google Analytics UTM tagging only: 'Google Analytics tracking adds data from Google Analytics to your emails' (source/medium/term/content/name); no in-app conversion reporting described on the page

  • Yes:

    Campaign reporting

    'detailed statistics'

  • Yes:

    Deliverability analytics

    Deliverability Insights dashboard (Stats section, Bounced & Blocked tab)

Developer features5 of 5 documented
  • Yes:

    API

    Email API core product; API on all tiers

  • Yes:

    SMTP API

    SMTP service alongside REST API

  • Yes:

    Webhooks

    Event Webhook (1 on trial, 2 Essentials, 5 Pro)

  • Yes:

    SDKs / client libraries

    Official client libraries documented in SendGrid docs

  • Yes:

    Public API docs

    Public docs at twilio.com/docs/sendgrid

Marketing platform6 of 7 documented
  • No:

    CRM

    No CRM product — email infrastructure + campaigns only

  • Yes:

    Signup forms

    'Capture new signups, confirm opt-ins, and add them directly to lists'

  • Not documented:

    Popupsnot documented

  • No:

    Landing pages

    Not offered — not stated anywhere on marketing-campaigns page

  • No:

    Chatbots

    Not offered in SendGrid product line

  • Partial:

    SMSpartial

    SMS via separate Twilio products, not inside SendGrid

  • No:

    Other channels

    Email-only product line

E-commerce3 of 5 documented
  • Not documented:

    Store integrationsnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • No:

    Cart recovery

    Not offered — no ecommerce automation product

  • No:

    E-commerce automation

    Not offered

  • Not documented:

    Purchase trackingnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • No:

    Product recommendations

    Not offered

Features checked 10 September 2026 · from vendor documentation and official feature pages.

AI & agent readiness · checked 2026-09-10

SendGrid and AI agents

50/100AI-ready

Scored 0–100 from public evidence: an official MCP server weighs most (40, +5 when hosted), then official agent skills, AI assistant apps, AI-friendly docs and built-in AI features. "Not found" means we couldn't locate it on SendGrid's public pages or the official MCP registry, not that it can't exist. This is context, never part of the Deliverability Score.

Captured from the vendor website

SendGrid in screenshots

SendGrid website: homepage hero section

SendGrid page on twilio.com (sendgrid.com redirects here), August 2026

Source: vendor website · 21 August 2026

SendGrid website: product/features section

SendGrid page section on email scale and deliverability with product screenshots

Source: vendor website · 21 August 2026

Independent review platforms — shown as context; never part of our measured Deliverability Score

What users say

Trustpilot

1.2/5

608 reviews

Checked 21 August 2026

G2

4.0/5

368 reviews

Checked 22 August 2026

Capterra

4.2/5

753 reviews

Checked 21 August 2026

Weighted average 2.7/5 across 1,729 reviews.Substantial review base

Trustpilot counts for half of the average: it is an open platform where businesses can't remove negative reviews. G2 and Capterra share the other half, and a platform with fewer than 100 reviews counts proportionally less.

Same primary category, from our catalog

Alternatives to SendGrid

Selected by catalog rule — same primary category, same depth tier first, then catalog demand order. Never hand-picked.

Generated from our datasets — every value verified and dated

Frequently asked questions

What is SendGrid?

SendGrid is a transactional email service in the InboxRatio catalog, also covering smtp provider, developer email infrastructure and email marketing. Its regional focus is Global.

How much does SendGrid cost?

Paid SendGrid plans start at $19.95/mo (Essentials tier), prices as shown by the vendor, last checked 19 August 2026.

Does SendGrid document its deliverability capabilities?

SendGrid documents 16 of the 17 deliverability capabilities we audit every vendor for (authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, reputation tooling). This audits what the vendor documents — it is separate from our measured Deliverability Score, and undocumented items are themselves a signal. How we read vendor claims.

What do users say about SendGrid?

Across 1,729 reviews on Trustpilot, G2 and Capterra, SendGrid averages 2.7/5, with Trustpilot counting for half of the average. User ratings are shown as context only — never part of our measured Deliverability Score.

Has SendGrid's deliverability been tested by InboxRatio?

Yes — SendGrid was measured in our seed-list deliverability test on 5 September 2026. Results publish to the email deliverability ranking; the full protocol is documented in our methodology. How we test.

What are the main SendGrid alternatives?

From our catalog, the closest alternatives are Brevo, Mailjet and Mailgun — services sharing SendGrid's primary category (transactional email), selected by a neutral catalog rule, never hand-picked.