InboxRatio
Check your domain

Catalog entry · InboxRatio Editorial

EmailOctopus: User reviews & features

EmailOctopus is an email marketing platform; emailoctopus.com served the product homepage directly when we verified it in August 2026, with no ownership or rebrand notes to record. It enters the catalog as a tier-3 service — its measured brand demand places it in the long tail of our 44-service ranking, so a catalog entry precedes both the pricing capture and the deliverability test cycle. No price level is assigned until pricing is captured at our normalization volumes under the same monthly-billing protocol used for tiers 1 and 2.

Measurement status

Not yet tested

EmailOctopus has not yet been through our seed-list placement test. We publish measured deliverability data only — never estimates.

From our feature dataset

Deliverability capabilities audit

The 17 deliverability capabilities we check every vendor for — authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, and reputation tooling. This audits what EmailOctopus documents; it is separate from our tested deliverability ranking.

9 of 17 documented capabilities

  • Yes:

    SPF assistance

    Domain verification: CNAME records found, EmailOctopus sets up DKIM and SPF

  • Yes:

    DKIM setup

    DKIM set up via CNAME records during domain verification

  • Yes:

    DMARC support

    Generated DMARC TXT record required for full sender authentication; DMARC setup article

  • Partial:

    Dedicated IPpartial

    'only available for EmailOctopus Connect users', at additional Amazon SES cost

  • Yes:

    Shared IP pools

    Connect: by default IPs 'are shared with other Amazon SES users'

  • Not documented:

    IP warmingnot documented

    warm-up not described in dedicated-IP article ('Managed' option is optimised by Amazon SES) — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Automated warmupnot documented

    not stated; 'Managed' dedicated IPs described only as 'managed and optimised for your sending patterns' — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    IP pools managementnot documented

    customer-managed IP pools not stated — searched 2026-09-10

  • Yes:

    Bounce management

    Hard bounces unsubscribed; repeat soft bounces 'automatically unsubscribed over time'

  • Yes:

    Suppression lists

    Hard-bounced and complaining contacts automatically set to unsubscribed, excluding them from sends

  • Yes:

    Complaint management

    'Any subscribers that raise a complaint... will automatically be unsubscribed'

  • Not documented:

    Feedback loop handlingnot documented

    complaint auto-unsubscribe stated, but receipt via ISP feedback loops not described — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Reputation monitoringnot documented

    only guidance on acceptable rates for Connect (complaints ~0.1%, hard bounces under 5%); no monitoring tool stated — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Blacklist monitoringnot documented

    not stated on features or email-delivery help pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability analyticsnot documented

    no inbox-placement or deliverability reporting stated — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability consultingnot documented

    claims 'over a decade of email delivery expertise' but no consulting service stated — searched 2026-09-10

  • Yes:

    Domain authentication guidance

    'Verifying a new domain' and 'Setting up DKIM, SPF and DMARC' help articles

Items marked — are not documented by the vendor. In this category, silence is itself a signal. How we read vendor claims: methodology.

From our feature dataset

EmailOctopus feature matrix

What the vendor documents, category by category. ◐ marks tier-gated or limited capabilities; — means the vendor does not document it.

Email6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Marketing campaigns

    Scheduled campaigns — 'Send your emails when the time is right'

  • No:

    Transactional email

    'We don't currently have an option to provide SMTP connection'; Connect users send transactional directly via Amazon SES

  • No:

    SMTP relay

    Vendor states no SMTP connection option; Connect routes marketing sends via your own Amazon SES

  • Yes:

    Bulk sending

    Campaigns to lists; Starter 10,000 emails/month, custom quotes for 500,000+ subscribers

  • Yes:

    Email templates

    '100+ mobile-friendly templates to choose from' plus HTML import, both plans

  • Yes:

    Drag-and-drop editor

    Drag-and-drop editor on Starter and Pro

Automation6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Email sequences

    Automations from 'welcome sequences to birthday messages'

  • Yes:

    Drip campaigns

    Wait step: contacts 'wait for a selected amount of time or until a selected day'

  • Yes:

    Event-based automation

    Triggers: contact added, field updated, tag added/removed, date/anniversary, 'Manually via API'

  • Yes:

    Behavioral automation

    'conditional paths let subscribers naturally take different routes based on what they've done'; email-activity conditions

  • Partial:

    Workflow builderpartial

    Advanced automation builder; 'When using our Starter plan, you can create up to three automations'

  • Yes:

    Conditional logic

    Condition step creates branching paths based on contact filters (all/any/none)

AI0 of 6 documented
  • Not documented:

    AI email generationnot documented

    no built-in AI writing tool stated; only an AI answers chatbot for help questions — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    AI subject linesnot documented

    not stated on features, pricing or help pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    AI content optimizationnot documented

    not stated on features, pricing or help pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    AI segmentationnot documented

    not stated on features, pricing or help pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    AI campaign recommendationsnot documented

    not stated on features, pricing or help pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    AI agent / assistantnot documented

    only an AI chatbot answering platform questions; no in-product AI agent stated — searched 2026-09-10

Personalization4 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Segmentation

    'A segment is a subset of a list'; reusable segments on contact data and activity

  • Yes:

    Dynamic content

    Supports 'conditional if statements' in email content (flagged as advanced feature)

  • Yes:

    Personalization variables

    'Personalisation using merge tags' on both plans

  • Yes:

    Behavioral targeting

    Segments by engagement, e.g. contacts who haven't opened previous campaigns

Analytics3 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Opens & clicks

    'real-time stats like opens and clicks'

  • Partial:

    Conversion trackingpartial

    No native conversion tracking stated; optional UTM parameters for Google Analytics

  • Yes:

    Campaign reporting

    Campaign reports (sent, opened, clicked, bounced, complained, unsubscribed); 30-day retention on Starter, forever on Pro

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability analyticsnot documented

    campaign bounce/complaint counts only; no inbox-placement or deliverability reporting stated — searched 2026-09-10

Developer features4 of 5 documented
  • Yes:

    API

    Public REST API v2 (lists, contacts, fields, campaign reports, automations); v1 marked legacy

  • No:

    SMTP API

    Vendor states no SMTP connection option

  • Yes:

    Webhooks

    Contact added/updated/deleted events via HTTPS; failed requests 'retried up to 9 times'

  • Not documented:

    SDKs / client librariesnot documented

    no official client libraries stated in v1 or v2 API docs — searched 2026-09-10

  • Yes:

    Public API docs

    Public API documentation with bearer-token auth and rate limits (10 req/s, burst 100)

Marketing platform3 of 7 documented
  • Not documented:

    CRMnot documented

    no CRM stated on features or pricing pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Partial:

    Signup formspartial

    Forms: 1 on Starter, unlimited on Pro

  • Partial:

    Popupspartial

    Pop-up forms triggered by timing, scroll, exit intent or click; count toward form limit (1 on Starter)

  • Partial:

    Landing pagespartial

    Landing pages: 1 on Starter, unlimited on Pro

  • Not documented:

    Chatbotsnot documented

    AI chatbot is EmailOctopus's own help tool, not a customer-facing product — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    SMSnot documented

    SMS not stated on features or pricing pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Other channelsnot documented

    no channels beyond email stated on features or pricing pages — searched 2026-09-10

E-commerce3 of 5 documented
  • Partial:

    Store integrationspartial

    Shopify and WooCommerce integrations 'run using Zapier'

  • Partial:

    Cart recoverypartial

    Shopify Zap can add/update contacts on abandoned carts; no native abandoned-cart flow stated

  • Partial:

    E-commerce automationpartial

    Store events reach automations only via Zapier adding/updating contacts and tags

  • Not documented:

    Purchase trackingnot documented

    not stated on integration or reports pages — searched 2026-09-10

  • Not documented:

    Product recommendationsnot documented

    not stated on features, pricing or integration pages — searched 2026-09-10

Features checked 10 September 2026 · from vendor documentation and official feature pages.

AI & agent readiness · checked 2026-09-10

EmailOctopus and AI agents

15/100Emerging
  • MCP server
    Community server only (io.usefulapi/emailoctopus) — not maintained by EmailOctopus.
    10/45
  • Official agent skills
    None found.
    0/10
  • AI assistant apps
    No listing in Claude, ChatGPT or other assistant directories found.
    0/20
  • AI-friendly docs5/15
  • Built-in AI features
    None documented among the six AI capabilities we track.
    0/10

Scored 0–100 from public evidence: an official MCP server weighs most (40, +5 when hosted), then official agent skills, AI assistant apps, AI-friendly docs and built-in AI features. "Not found" means we couldn't locate it on EmailOctopus's public pages or the official MCP registry, not that it can't exist. This is context, never part of the Deliverability Score.

Captured from the vendor website

EmailOctopus in screenshots

EmailOctopus website: homepage hero section

EmailOctopus homepage, August 2026

Source: vendor website · 22 August 2026

EmailOctopus website: features overview page

Features overview page

Source: vendor website · 22 August 2026

Independent review platforms — shown as context; never part of our measured Deliverability Score

What users say

Trustpilot

4.8/5

272 reviews

Checked 10 September 2026

G2

4.2/5

46 reviews

Checked 10 September 2026

Capterra

4.8/5

655 reviews

Checked 10 September 2026

Weighted average 4.7/5 across 973 reviews.Limited review base

Trustpilot counts for half of the average: it is an open platform where businesses can't remove negative reviews. G2 and Capterra share the other half, and a platform with fewer than 100 reviews counts proportionally less.

Same primary category, from our catalog

Alternatives to EmailOctopus

Selected by catalog rule — same primary category, same depth tier first, then catalog demand order. Never hand-picked.

Generated from our datasets — every value verified and dated

Frequently asked questions

What is EmailOctopus?

EmailOctopus is an email marketing service in the InboxRatio catalog. Its regional focus is Global.

Does EmailOctopus document its deliverability capabilities?

EmailOctopus documents 9 of the 17 deliverability capabilities we audit every vendor for (authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, reputation tooling). This audits what the vendor documents — it is separate from our measured Deliverability Score, and undocumented items are themselves a signal. How we read vendor claims.

What do users say about EmailOctopus?

Across 973 reviews on Trustpilot, G2 and Capterra, EmailOctopus averages 4.7/5, with Trustpilot counting for half of the average. User ratings are shown as context only — never part of our measured Deliverability Score.

Has EmailOctopus' deliverability been tested by InboxRatio?

Not yet — EmailOctopus is in the queue for Cycle 0, our first seed-list test cycle across the whole catalog. We publish measured inbox-placement results only after a completed cycle, so this profile carries no Deliverability Score until then. How we test.

What are the main EmailOctopus alternatives?

From our catalog, the closest alternatives are Acumbamail, Benchmark Email and Elastic Email — services sharing EmailOctopus' primary category (email marketing), selected by a neutral catalog rule, never hand-picked.