InboxRatio
Check your domain

Catalog entry · InboxRatio Editorial

Mailchimp: User reviews, pricing & features

Mailchimp is an email marketing platform that also covers marketing automation and e-commerce email, and it carries the largest search demand of any service in our 44-entry catalog. The product is owned by Intuit; we confirmed mailchimp.com serves its email and SMS marketing pages directly, with no rebrand or redirect, in August 2026.

A free plan exists below 250 contacts. At our normalization volume of 1,000 contacts and 10,000 emails per month, the cheapest covering paid tier is Essentials at $27/month (the 501–1,500-contact step, 15,000 emails included) — an SMB-band price. The tier covering full automation, API access, and branding removal is Standard at $45/month, since Essentials caps automations at four flow steps — API availability verified 20 August 2026. Pricing checked 19 August 2026.

Measured · August 2026

Our deliverability test

85/100Good deliverability

Placement

  • Inbox87.8%
  • Tabs (Promotions / Updates)6.3%
  • Spam3.6%
  • Missing2.1%
  • Bounced0.2%

By mailbox provider

  • Gmail88/100
  • Outlook82/100
  • Yahoo91/100
Deliverability tested: August 2026 · seed-list placement test, formula v0.1-pre-calibration

From our pricing dataset

Pricing at a glance

TierMonthly priceWhat's included
Free$0/mo250 contacts
Essentials$27/mo1,500 contacts · 15,000 emails/mo
Standard$45/mo1,500 contacts · 18,000 emails/mo
Premium$350/mo10,000 contacts · 150,000 emails/mo

Functional tier

Standard at $45/mo is the cheapest Mailchimp tier with automation workflows, API access, and vendor-branding removal all included.

Pricing checked 19 August 2026 · monthly billing, prices as shown by the vendor.

From our feature dataset

Deliverability capabilities audit

The 17 deliverability capabilities we check every vendor for — authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, and reputation tooling. This audits what Mailchimp documents; it is separate from our tested deliverability ranking.

14 of 17 documented capabilities

  • Partial:

    SPF assistancepartial

    SPF named only on Transactional page ('SPF, DKIM, and DMARC to verify your sender identity'); marketing domain-auth article covers DKIM/DMARC records

  • Yes:

    DKIM setup

    'Create a new DKIM record... copy and paste 2 CNAME records'

  • Yes:

    DMARC support

    'Create a new DMARC record... one TXT record' — setup guidance

  • Partial:

    Dedicated IPpartial

    Only via Mailchimp Transactional add-on ('Request and manage Dedicated IPs for your account'); marketing platform sends from shared delivery servers

  • Yes:

    Shared IP pools

    Marketing sends via shared Mailchimp delivery-server IP ranges (published CIDR list)

  • Partial:

    IP warmingpartial

    Transactional only: warmup 'gradually increase the percentage of your mail... over a period of roughly 30 days'

  • Partial:

    Automated warmuppartial

    Transactional 'Start ip warmup' API automates the ramp; not offered on marketing platform

  • Partial:

    IP pools managementpartial

    Transactional only: 'Add ip pool' / 'List ip pools' endpoints

  • Yes:

    Bounce management

    Mailchimp 'tracks its delivery and cleans bounced addresses from your audience' — no further sends to them

  • Yes:

    Suppression lists

    Cleaned-contact status: hard-bounced/repeat-soft-bounced addresses considered invalid and excluded from sends

  • Yes:

    Complaint management

    Abuse complaints 'immediately moved out of your active audience and into the abuse complaints area'

  • Yes:

    Feedback loop handling

    'If an ISP has a feedback loop (most of them do), a recipient who marks one of your emails as spam gets registered as an abuse complaint'

  • Yes:

    Reputation monitoring

    Omnivore abuse-prevention system predicts bounces/permission issues; bounce/unsubscribe/abuse rates monitored with warnings above industry thresholds

  • Not documented:

    Blacklist monitoringnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability analyticsnot documented

    No inbox-placement/deliverability reporting stated on fetched pages

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability consultingnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Yes:

    Domain authentication guidance

    'Set up email authentication for your custom domain. Domain authentication proves you're a legitimate sender.'

Items marked — are not documented by the vendor. In this category, silence is itself a signal. How we read vendor claims: methodology.

From our feature dataset

Mailchimp feature matrix

What the vendor documents, category by category. ◐ marks tier-gated or limited capabilities; — means the vendor does not document it.

Email6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Marketing campaigns

    Core product — 'Send personalized emails that convert'

  • Partial:

    Transactional emailpartial

    Separate paid add-on: 'Mailchimp Transactional is priced by email send volume. Pricing starts at $20 per block'

  • Partial:

    SMTP relaypartial

    Only via Mailchimp Transactional add-on: 'send transactional emails using the Transactional API or SMTP integration'

  • Yes:

    Bulk sending

    Bulk campaign sends with per-plan monthly send multipliers (10x-15x contacts)

  • Yes:

    Email templates

    'Design emails in less time' — template library

  • Yes:

    Drag-and-drop editor

    'drag-and-drop editing, and design tools'

Automation6 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    Email sequences

    Triggered series incl. welcome sends; Free plan has no automation, Essentials capped at 4 flow steps

  • Yes:

    Drip campaigns

    'Email Drip Campaign' featured capability

  • Yes:

    Event-based automation

    'triggered emails like welcome messages or birthday sends'

  • Yes:

    Behavioral automation

    'Send targeted messages' based on audience behavior

  • Partial:

    Workflow builderpartial

    'Marketing Automation Flows' builder; up to 200 flows from Standard, 4-step cap on Essentials, none on Free

  • Partial:

    Conditional logicpartial

    If/Else rule 'Splits contacts down one of two branching flow paths based on up to 5 conditions'; conditional and percentage splits require Standard plan or higher

AI5 of 6 documented
  • Yes:

    AI email generation

    'Instantly create unique copy'

  • Yes:

    AI subject lines

    'Write compelling headlines'

  • Yes:

    AI content optimization

    Send-time optimization — 'Know when to send your emails'

  • Yes:

    AI segmentation

    AI-assisted personalized campaigns/segments

  • Not documented:

    AI campaign recommendationsnot documented

    Product recommendations not stated on fetched page

  • Partial:

    AI agent / assistantpartial

    Official MCP server (Intuit Mailchimp connector (MCP)) lets external AI assistants act on the account; no native in-product agent documented

Personalization4 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Segmentation

    'Filter your audience'

  • Yes:

    Dynamic content

    'Automatically personalize emails'

  • Yes:

    Personalization variables

    Merge-tag personalization

  • Yes:

    Behavioral targeting

    'Send targeted messages'

Analytics3 of 4 documented
  • Yes:

    Opens & clicks

    'See opens, clicks, and unsubscribes'

  • Yes:

    Conversion tracking

    Revenue tracking — 'Track opens, clicks, revenue'

  • Yes:

    Campaign reporting

    'Track opens, clicks, revenue, and audience growth'

  • Not documented:

    Deliverability analyticsnot documented

    Not stated on features page or domain-auth help page

Developer features5 of 5 documented
  • Yes:

    API

    Marketing API account-level on all plans; capability varies by plan

  • Partial:

    SMTP APIpartial

    SMTP only via paid Transactional add-on

  • Yes:

    Webhooks

    'use webhooks to track message events in real time'

  • Yes:

    SDKs / client libraries

    'Mailchimp's API client libraries and mobile SDKs' — PHP, Node, Python, Ruby (Marketing + Transactional APIs), iOS and Android SDKs

  • Yes:

    Public API docs

    'API docs' public at mailchimp.com/developer

Marketing platform6 of 7 documented
  • Yes:

    CRM

    Marketing CRM — 'Strengthen customer connections'

  • Yes:

    Signup forms

    'Collect the data you need' — signup forms

  • Yes:

    Popups

    'Popup forms (beta)'

  • Yes:

    Landing pages

    'Design a website easily' — landing pages + website builder

  • Not documented:

    Chatbotsnot documented

    Not stated on fetched pages

  • Yes:

    SMS

    'SMS marketing, advanced automation' (plan/geo availability not stated)

  • Yes:

    Other channels

    'run paid ads across Facebook, Instagram, and Google'

E-commerce5 of 5 documented
  • Yes:

    Store integrations

    'Sync Shopify customers, products, and purchase data'

  • Partial:

    Cart recoverypartial

    'Abandoned cart emails are available to users who connect a supported e-commerce store or custom API 3.0 integration'; classic version only for paid accounts that already created a classic automation; flow-map versions plan-dependent

  • Partial:

    E-commerce automationpartial

    Abandoned cart email/series/flow maps and product recommendations 'available depending on your plan level'; require a connected store

  • Yes:

    Purchase tracking

    Shopify purchase-data sync

  • Partial:

    Product recommendationspartial

    Purchase-history product rec content block — 'Mailchimp analyzes this data to identify and rank up to 10 unique product recommendations'; needs connected store with 10 products, 50 customers, 500 orders in the last year

Features checked 10 September 2026 · from vendor documentation and official feature pages.

AI & agent readiness · checked 2026-09-10

Mailchimp and AI agents

79/100AI-native

Official MCP server · hosted, connect by URL

AI agents and assistants can work with Mailchimp directly through Intuit Mailchimp connector (MCP): create data-backed omnichannel campaign plans, generate and edit email/social layouts, save campaign plans to Mailchimp

  • MCP server
    Official.
    45/45
  • Official agent skills
    None found.
    0/10
  • AI assistant apps10/20
  • AI-friendly docs15/15
  • Built-in AI features
    AI email generation, AI subject lines, AI content optimization, AI segmentation, AI agent / assistant (partial)
    9/10

Scored 0–100 from public evidence: an official MCP server weighs most (40, +5 when hosted), then official agent skills, AI assistant apps, AI-friendly docs and built-in AI features. "Not found" means we couldn't locate it on Mailchimp's public pages or the official MCP registry, not that it can't exist. This is context, never part of the Deliverability Score.

Captured from the vendor website

Mailchimp in screenshots

Mailchimp website: homepage hero section

Mailchimp homepage, August 2026

Source: vendor website · 21 August 2026

Mailchimp website: product/features section

Features page section showing predictive segmentation and campaign analytics UI

Source: vendor website · 21 August 2026

Independent review platforms — shown as context; never part of our measured Deliverability Score

What users say

Trustpilot

2.6/5

1,494 reviews

Checked 21 August 2026

G2

4.3/5

12,985 reviews

Checked 21 August 2026

Capterra

4.5/5

17,673 reviews

Checked 21 August 2026

Weighted average 3.5/5 across 32,152 reviews.Large review base

Trustpilot counts for half of the average: it is an open platform where businesses can't remove negative reviews. G2 and Capterra share the other half, and a platform with fewer than 100 reviews counts proportionally less.

Same primary category, from our catalog

Alternatives to Mailchimp

Selected by catalog rule — same primary category, same depth tier first, then catalog demand order. Never hand-picked.

Generated from our datasets — every value verified and dated

Frequently asked questions

What is Mailchimp?

Mailchimp is an email marketing service in the InboxRatio catalog, also covering marketing automation and e-commerce email. Its regional focus is Global.

How much does Mailchimp cost?

Paid Mailchimp plans start at $27/mo (Essentials tier), prices as shown by the vendor, last checked 19 August 2026. The cheapest tier with automation, API access and branding removal all included is Standard at $45/mo.

Does Mailchimp document its deliverability capabilities?

Mailchimp documents 14 of the 17 deliverability capabilities we audit every vendor for (authentication help, IP management, list hygiene, reputation tooling). This audits what the vendor documents — it is separate from our measured Deliverability Score, and undocumented items are themselves a signal. How we read vendor claims.

What do users say about Mailchimp?

Across 32,152 reviews on Trustpilot, G2 and Capterra, Mailchimp averages 3.5/5, with Trustpilot counting for half of the average. User ratings are shown as context only — never part of our measured Deliverability Score.

Has Mailchimp's deliverability been tested by InboxRatio?

Yes — Mailchimp was measured in our seed-list deliverability test on 31 August 2026. Results publish to the email deliverability ranking; the full protocol is documented in our methodology. How we test.

What are the main Mailchimp alternatives?

From our catalog, the closest alternatives are Brevo, Constant Contact and Klaviyo — services sharing Mailchimp's primary category (email marketing), selected by a neutral catalog rule, never hand-picked.