Pricing · InboxRatio Editorial
Mailchimp pricing (2026)
Prices on this page come from Mailchimp's official pricing page, checked 21 August 2026: mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/?currency=USD. Monthly billing, prices exactly as shown by the vendor, captured and dated by InboxRatio Editorial.
Summary — generated from our pricing datasets
Mailchimp's pricing page lists 4 email marketing plans, including a free plan (250 contacts). The cheapest paid plan is Essentials at $27/mo. At 1,000 contacts, the cheapest covering plan costs $27/mo, while the functional tier — the cheapest one with automation workflows, API access and vendor-branding removal — is Standard at $45/mo. At 50,000 contacts, the functional price is $450/mo on Standard. Averaged across our 4-point volume ladder, those functional prices sit at percentile 74.0 among the 13 email marketing services we price (0 = cheapest), which places Mailchimp in the Mid-market price band. No overage or dedicated-IP price appears among the captured tiers. Every price is as shown by Mailchimp, captured with the monthly billing toggle active and promotions excluded, and was last checked on 21 August 2026.
From Mailchimp's official pricing page
Mailchimp email marketing plans
| Tier | Monthly price | Annual-billed | What's included | Overage /1k |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/mo | — | 250 contacts | — |
| Essentials | $27/mo | — | 1,500 contacts · 15,000 emails/mo | — |
| Standard | $45/mo | — | 1,500 contacts · 18,000 emails/mo | — |
| Premium | $350/mo | — | 10,000 contacts · 150,000 emails/mo | — |
Checked 21 August 2026 on Mailchimp's official pricing page · monthly billing toggle active, promotions excluded, currency as shown. “—” = not published on the captured tier.
Entry tier vs functional tier
Entry tier
$27/mo
Essentials — the cheapest paid plan on the page.
Functional tier at 1,000 contacts
$45/mo
Standard — the cheapest tier with automation workflows, API access and vendor-branding removal.
From our pricing-by-volume dataset
What Mailchimp costs by contact count
| Volume | Cheapest covering plan | Functional tier | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 contacts | $27/mo | $45/mo(Standard) | 19 August 2026 |
| 5,000 contacts | $75/mo | $100/mo(Standard) | 21 August 2026 |
| 10,000 contacts | $110/mo | $135/mo(Standard) | 21 August 2026 |
| 50,000 contacts | $385/mo | $450/mo(Standard) | 21 August 2026 |
Monthly billing, prices as shown. Where Mailchimp has no exact step at a volume, the nearest covering step was captured. Functional tier = the cheapest tier with automation workflows, API access and vendor-branding removal.
Free plan, trial and extras
- Free plan
- Yes — Free: 250 contacts
- Free trial
- 14 days (as stated on the pricing page)
- Overage
- No public overage price captured
- Dedicated IP
- No public dedicated-IP price captured
What each tier unlocks
| Tier | API access | Automation | Branding removal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | yes | no | no |
| Essentials | yes | limited | yes |
| Standard | yes | yes | yes |
| Premium | yes | yes | yes |
Per-tier clauses as recorded in our pricing dataset (checked 21 August 2026); “limited” = capped or partial, “not stated” = not documented by the vendor.
How Mailchimp pricing compares
$$$ Mid-market price band in email marketing — average functional-price percentile 74.0 across 4 volumes, among the 13 services we price (0 = cheapest).
- 1,000 contacts: #10 of 13
- 5,000 contacts: tied #10–11 of 13
- 10,000 contacts: #9 of 13
- 50,000 contacts: #10 of 13
From our feature matrix — documented by the vendor
Headline features
- Marketing campaignsCore product — 'Send personalized emails that convert'
- Transactional emailSeparate paid add-on: 'Mailchimp Transactional is priced by email send volume. Pricing starts at $20 per block'
- SMTP relayOnly via Mailchimp Transactional add-on: 'send transactional emails using the Transactional API or SMTP integration'
- Workflow builder'Marketing Automation Flows' builder; up to 200 flows from Standard, 4-step cap on Essentials, none on Free
- APIMarketing API account-level on all plans; capability varies by plan
- Webhooks'use webhooks to track message events in real time'
- Dedicated IPOnly via Mailchimp Transactional add-on ('Request and manage Dedicated IPs for your account'); marketing platform sends from shared delivery servers
- SMS'SMS marketing, advanced automation' (plan/geo availability not stated)
Features checked 10 September 2026. ✓ documented · ◐ limited or plan-gated · × documented as absent · — not documented.
Generated from our datasets — every value verified and dated
Frequently asked questions
How much does Mailchimp cost?
Paid Mailchimp email marketing plans start at $27/mo (Essentials), according to Mailchimp's official pricing page as checked on 21 August 2026. At 1,000 contacts, the functional tier is Standard at $45/mo.
Is there a free Mailchimp plan?
Yes. Mailchimp's pricing page lists 4 email marketing plans, including a free plan (250 contacts). Checked 21 August 2026.
What does Mailchimp cost at 10,000 contacts?
At 10,000 contacts, the cheapest Mailchimp plan covering that volume costs $110/mo and the functional tier, Standard, costs $135/mo (prices as shown, checked 21 August 2026).
What does Mailchimp's functional tier include?
At 1,000 contacts, Standard ($45/mo) is the cheapest Mailchimp tier with automation workflows, API access and vendor-branding removal. We compare email marketing services on this functional tier rather than on the headline entry price. Email Marketing pricing compared.
When was Mailchimp pricing last checked?
On 21 August 2026, from Mailchimp's official pricing page (https://mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/?currency=USD). Every price on this page carries its capture date.